top of page

Cavallino Classic Best of Show Among Peninsula Nominees

166 P / 206 SP Dino Nominated

The first ever Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award will be chosen by a stellar group of automotive heavyweights for the Best Classic in the World. The Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award will bring together the 2015 Best of Show winners from six of the top Concours events around the globe to compete for the title of the most exceptional car in the world. Ranging from early production to mid-1960s Italian race cars, the winner of the inaugural Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award will be announced at a private dinner during the Monterey Car Week on Tuesday, August 16, 2016.

The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie, Chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, and parent company of The Peninsula Hotels, together with award co-founders Christian Philippsen, William E. “Chip” Connor and Bruce Meyer, created this award in the spirit of celebrating the best of what defines the automotive world for the year. “We are thrilled to pay homage to the finest attributes of the motor vehicles we celebrate at this year’s The Quail, A Motorsports Gathering,” said Kadoorie. “The Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award marks a new milestone as the first of many extraordinary presentations of the most elite cars on the Concours circuit and we couldn’t be more thrilled to be a part of elevating the legacy our event has come to manifest.”

The 6 Best of Shows vying for the Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award are:

  • 1903 Mercedes 60HP Simplex: Best of Show – Royal Concours of Elegance

  • 1932 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8A S Sport Cabriolet – Best of Show – Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance

  • 1930 Cord L29 Brooks Stevens Speedster – Best of Show – Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance

  • 1937 Talbot-Lago T150C SS ‘Goutte d’Eau – Best of Show – Goodwood Cartier Style et Luxe

  • 1968 Alfa Romeo Tipo 33 Stradale – Best of Show – The Quail, A Motorsports Gathering

  • 1965 Ferrari 166 P / 206 SP Dino 0834 – Best of Show – Cavallino Classic Concorso d’Eleganza

For the Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award, six cars that won Best in Class at significant Concours around the world in 2015 were judged by a panel of 23 knowledgeable experts in the field of automotive design.

The judging committee of 23 experts, designers and celebrities includes:

Anne Asensio – VP of Design at Dassault Systemes; formerly Executive Design Director at General Motors, and Renault.

Chris Bangle – Founded Chris Bangle Associates; formerly Chief of Design for the BMW Group.

Peter Brock – Designer, best known for his work on the Shelby Daytona Cobra Coupe and Corvette Sting Ray.

Ian Cameron – Designer at Pininfarina, Fiat and the BWM Group; formerly Design Director of Rolls-Royce Motor Cars.

Ian Callum – Director of Design at Jaguar Cars; formerly with Aston Martin and Ford Design.

Miles Collier – Founded the world-class Collier Museum, and the Revs Institute for Automotive Research.

Luc Donckerwolke – Designer for Hyundai’s Genesis premium brand; formerly with Audi, Lamborghini and Peugeot.

Fabio Filippini – Chief Creative Officer at Pininfarina; worked in collaboration with Ferrari on recent models.

Henry Ford III – Marketing Manager for Ford Performance; great-great grandson of Ford Motor founder Henry Ford.

Charles Gordon-Lennox, Lord March – Founder of the Goodwood Festival of Speed, the Goodwood Revival and President of the British Automobile Racing Club.

Ralph Lauren – Founder of fashion icon brand Ralph Lauren and a major classic car collector.

Jay Leno – Famed comedian, show host and a major classic car collector.

Flavio Manzoni – Senior VP of Design Ferrari at the Ferrari Style Centre, responsible for many recent designs; formerly with Lancia, SEAT and Volkswagen Group.

Nick Mason – Former Pink Floyd drummer and a major classic car collector; race car driver and President for the Guild of Motoring Writers.

François Melcion – Founder and Managing Director of the famed Rétromobile show in Paris.

Gordon Murray – Founder of Gordon Murray Design; best known for his work as a designer of Formula One race cars for Brabham and especially McLaren, and for the McLaren F1 road car.

Shiro Nakamura – Senior Vice President and Chief Creative Officer of Nissan Motor Co, Ltd.

Ken Okuyama – Founder of Ken Okuyama Design; formerly Design Director of Pininfarina, Senior Designer at Porsche AG, and Chief Designer for General Motors.

Adolfo Orsi Jr – Renowned auto historian and Concours Judge; grandson and son of Adolfo and Omer Orsi, owners of Maserati between 1937 and 1967.

Manvendra Barwani Singh – Well known automotive historian, author and enthusiast; Member of the FIA International Historical Commission.

Frank Stephenson – Design Director at McLaren Automotive; formerly Design Director at Ferrari, Maserati, BMW Group and Ford Germany.

Jean Todt – President of the FIA – Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile, after a long career as a rally co-driver; formerly Sport Manager at Peugeot Talbot Sport and Scuderia Ferrari, then CEO of Ferrari.

Gorden Wagener – Vice President of Design for Daimler AG and Chief Designer of Mercedes-Benz.

Edward T. Welburn – founder of The Welburn Group and Vice President of Global Design at General Motors.

The final victor from the six cars will be announced at a private dinner on August 16, 2016, and the winning vehicle will be recognized on stage at the 14th annual The Quail, A Motorsports Gathering on August 19, 2016.

Featured from Our Store

No product

Like What You're Reading?

Subscribe, or collect rare back issues of Cavallino.

Never Miss a New Item!
Recent Posts